Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

HBASE "archive". How to clean? My disk space is vanishing....

Rising Star

hi! So, I'm the sysadmin of a hadoop cluster. I am not a developer, nor do I "use" it. But... I make sure it's running and happy and secure and... so on.

In reviewing HDFS disk use lately, I noticed our numbers are kinda high.

After some digging, it appears all of the space is going into hbase. OK cool, that's what our developers are doing. Stuffing things in hbase.

But I appear to be losing a bunch of disk space to the hbase "archives" folder. Which is something I assume that hbase is putting stuff in when tables are deleted or...?

I checked with one of our developers, he sees that in the archive there's tables he deleted long ago.
So... my simple question is, how do I clean out unneeded things from the hbase "archive"? I assume manually deleting stuff via hdfs is **not** the way to go.

[hdfs dfs -du -s -h /apps/hbase/data/*
338.6 K /apps/hbase/data/.hbase-snapshot
0 /apps/hbase/data/.tmp
20 /apps/hbase/data/MasterProcWALs
830 /apps/hbase/data/WALs
6.6 T /apps/hbase/data/archive <=== THIS.
0 /apps/hbase/data/corrupt
4.1 T /apps/hbase/data/data
42 /apps/hbase/data/hbase.id
7 /apps/hbase/data/hbase.version
30.7 K /apps/hbase/data/oldWALs

ANY and all help for an hbase newbie would be really appreciated

3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Super Collaborator

Check whether you have hbase.master.hfilecleaner.ttl configuration property in hbase-site.xml. It defines TTL for archived files.

Archive directory can keep:

1. old WAL files

2. Old region files after compaction

3. files for snapshots.

I believe that you have some old snapshots and that's why you have so big archive directory. Delete snapshots that are not required and those files will be deleted automatically.

View solution in original post

Super Guru