Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Help with Role Assignments / New Install

Contributor

Hi, I'm new to Cloudera Standard.  We [will] have a 7 node cluster (5 TaskTrackers + 2 NameNodes/JobTrackers).  In addition I have one VM to host the Cloudera Manager. I've ran through the installation process a few times to get familiar, and my question is how best to distribute the role assignments.  

We need HDFS, HBase, MapReduce, Hive, Hue, Sqoop, and Impala.  Can someone tell me if I'm on the right track with the assignments here?

1. NameNode:  JobTracker, Sqoop, Impala StateStore Daemon, Cloudera Mgmt Services (Monitors)
  2. SecNameN:  JobTracker, (put other services here?)
  3. DataNode01:  TaskTracker, Impala Daemon
  4. DataNode02:  TaskTracker, Impala Daemon
  5. DataNode03:  TaskTracker, Impala Daemon
  6. DataNode04:  TaskTracker, Impala Daemon
  7. DataNode05:  TaskTracker, Impala Daemon
  8. Admin01 (VM):  Cloudera Manager

My biggest questions lie with the Hive and HBase assignments across the nodes:

• Hive Gateway
  • Hive MetaStore
  • HiveServer2
  • HBase Master
  • HBase RegionServer
  • HBase Thrift Server (not sure if I need)

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated!  Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Master Collaborator

Is this for proof of concept/discovery?  This would be a tightly packed cluster you are proposing for most production environments IMHO .  Our account team provides Solutions Engineering /Solutions Architecture guidance for things like this as you begin to scope out revenue generating activity with a cluster and want enterprise support.

Review our blogs discussion here on hardware sizing:

http://blog.cloudera.com/blog/2013/08/how-to-select-the-right-hardware-for-your-new-hadoop-cluster/