Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

How can I connect my local windows PC to Sandbox so that I can move files from my PC to Sandbox and then to HDFS?

Explorer

Hi

I am completely new to Sandbox and I am struggling with connection to my local windows PC. All I have done is the following:

1. Downloaded and installed Oracle VirtualBox Manager.

2. Imported applicance - Hortonworks Sandbox.

3. Started my VM and logged into Ambari via my browser with maria_dev.

Here is where I have a problem. How can I get the VM or Hortonworks to talk to my windows PC so that I can transfer files via command line?

I know that I can use the upload via Ambari but I wish to transfer multiple files at once.

What other steps are required? Do I need to set up another user in sandbox?

Any help or advice for a newbie would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Master Mentor

@Matt

You will need to do a SSH to the Sandbox first and then run the following commands:

# su - maria_dev
# hadoop fs -copyFromLocal  /root/sample.txt  /user/maria_dev/
(OR)
# hdfs dfs -put  /root/sample.txt  /user/maria_dev/
# hdfs dfs -ls  /user/maria_dev/

NOTE: the user "maria_dev" should have read permission atleast on the file "/root/sample.txt" before it tried to read/push it to HDFS.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

Super Collaborator

you should use a tool like WinSCP to copy files. you will have to configure the host, which is your sandbox (the name or IP should be known, since you used it to connect via browser).It will be possible to use the user maria_dev as well.
If you want to use the shell, you can use a ssh client for Windows, like Putty.