Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

How to delete a row/drop a column?

I am new to Apache nifi and trying to evaluate tool for given business scenarios.

I ingested csv files using ListFile and FetchFile Processor, now want to perform below transformations on below data:

1. To drop a column from this ingested data.(I can specify column name for the action)

2. To delete a row from the ingested data using specific condition.

3. To perform transformations on null values present in the data

Thanks in advance!!

Regards,

Garima.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Guru

The best solution seems to be ... after FetchFile:

• SplitText processor (into single lines), then
  • ExtractText processor (delete row) to regex match rows you want to discard, and connect to next processor with unmatched
  • ReplaceText processor (drop column) to regex find a column and replace empty value
    • Search Value e.g.: (.*,){2} to match the third column
    • Replacement Value: ''
    • need special attention to delim for first and last columns because there will be only trailing or leading
  • ReplaceText processor (transform nulls) to regex find a column and replace empty value
    • Search Value regex find all nulls
    • Replacement Value: what you want to transfer to
  • From here you can merge lines if you need to batch or keep text split as single lines (records) if you want to stream.

A bit challenging on the regex skills, but completely within the realm of regex operations.

See the HCC article for a full working example: https://community.hortonworks.com/articles/66861/nifi-etl-removing-columns-filtering-rows-changing.h...

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Guru

The best solution seems to be ... after FetchFile:

• SplitText processor (into single lines), then