Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

How to start one processor group using another processor group?

Explorer

I'm very new to NIFI. I'm just wondering how can i start one processor group from other processor group automatically. Let's say I have two processor groups PG1, PG2. Based on the output from PG1, the processor group PG2 should start automatically. Is it possible to do that? If so what are all required?

5 REPLIES 5

Super Mentor

@girish6 

At a high level, anything you can do via the NiFi UI can also be done via rest-api calls. 
So while no processor exists specifically for the purpose of triggering another component to enable and start, you could use the invokeHTTP processor(s) to make the necessary rest-api calls to start other components.

Getting the rest-api calls needed can be done using developer tools available in most browsers.  You can capture the rest api calls as you perform the actions within the NiFi UI.  Most developer tools allow you to save as curl for example which gives you the exact rest-api endpoint called, all the headers, and other relevant input for the rest-api endpoint (often json).

NiFi dataflow architecture is typically designed as an always on setup.

You have not shared much about your use case as to why you need to start PG2 only when PG1 has a specific outcome.  Maybe there are alternate design solutions here.

Hope this helps,

Matt

Explorer

@MattWho Let's say my PG1 is having GetFile processor and an output port. My PG2 is having input port and PutFile processor. You need to start PG1 manually. If there are files goes through GetFile then automatically PG2 should start. If there are no files for the GetFile, PG2 should remain in off state. This is what I'm thinking whether can I able to do this? 

Super Mentor

@girish6