Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

How to take a backup hive table (partitioned) in HDinsight cluster (blob storage)

Expert Contributor

Hi i am new to HDinsight cluster with HDP 2.4 , I just want to take a backup of file and remove some record one of hive table(partitoned) which is stored in blob storage(cloud)

i have done this in hive table which are stored in local hdfs

Create table bkp_table as select * from original_table;

so like above i done in HDinsight cluster

1) I have create database ' bkp_database' in hive(but which is not storage in blob storage)

2) i have take the backup of table

Create table bkp_database.bkp_table as select * from org_database.original_table(which is is stored in blob storage);

Here i observe that

1) table size is differ(blob storage have orc format)

2)table count() not matches

Can any one explain the step-step by process how to take a backup of hive table in hdsight cluster?

10 REPLIES 10

Super Guru

could you please try to

create table bkp_table like original_table;

and insert data into bkp_table from original table and see if it helps

@rama

Expert Contributor

Thanks you so much@Rajkumar Singh

Which database should i use to store this bkp_table i.e should i create any database?

If i create any database where should i create database in hive? or directory in blob storeage?

Super Guru
@rama

its upto you whether you want to create a table in new database or the same database where the original table is, for the second query you can specify database path aftter specifying path in command

create database <db name> location <some location>

Expert Contributor

@Rajkumar Singh

i have try to use "create table bkp_table like original_table;" and its created table same schema but location is local hdfs not in blob storage and format also not orc

Super Guru

@rama will you able to run the suggestions?