Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

How to use HUE in Oracle VM VirtualBox HDP2.6

New Contributor

I am new to HDP. Downloaded and going thru the Getting Started Tutorial. How do I access HUE?

yum list | grep hue --> shows several packages.

Using the ip-addr from ifconfig and port 8080 did not work.

2 Questions:

1. Is it already preconfigured to run?

2. If not, how do I configure?

I tried the configure "Hue to work with Hadoop"..but doc was insufficient in the document : when trying to add Property for hadoop.proxyuser.hue.groups.. what should the key/values be?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Guru

Hi @Vamsi N

the Sandbox comes pre-configured with Apache Ambari, and the Ambari Views. You may want to consider using the views first since they are already installed, available, and well documented for HDP. I don't believe Hue is pre-installed/configured, but, the ports likely be 1111 depending on what you configure during the installation.

If you want to install Hue yourself on HDP 2.6.x, I believe the instructions can be found at the following location:

https://docs.hortonworks.com/HDPDocuments/HDP2/HDP-2.6.1/bk_command-line-installation/content/instal...

As always, if you find this post useful, please "accept" the answer.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

Guru

Hi @Vamsi N

the Sandbox comes pre-configured with Apache Ambari, and the Ambari Views. You may want to consider using the views first since they are already installed, available, and well documented for HDP. I don't believe Hue is pre-installed/configured, but, the ports likely be 1111 depending on what you configure during the installation.

If you want to install Hue yourself on HDP 2.6.x, I believe the instructions can be found at the following location:

https://docs.hortonworks.com/HDPDocuments/HDP2/HDP-2.6.1/bk_command-line-installation/content/instal...