Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Kafka with SSL

New Contributor

I am trying to configure a brand new Kafka cluster/sandbox with SSL, but I keep getting errors. I apologize for the length of this email, but I've never worked with keystores/certificates before, so while I'm trying to follow the directions here (http://kafka.apache.org/documentation.html#security_ssl), there are a few things I'm doing my best on but don't quite understand. So I'm trying to include below not just exactly what commands I'm running on exactly which nodes, but my interpretation of exactly what they should be doing. I'm also not trying to get client authentication working for the brokers yet - that will be the next step. 🙂

Setup: I have a brand new 3 node Kafka cluster, and I have 1 Edge node I am going to use as a "CA-node".
Step 1: I need to generate an SSL key and certificate for each Kafka broker.
On all 3 brokers:
keytool -keystore server.keystore.jks -alias localhost -validity 365 -genkey -keyalg RSA -storepass test1234 
When it asks for first/last name, I am giving the FQDN of that broker.
I now have a keystore named server.keystore.jks on each broker. Later we will export the certificate from this keystore so it can be signed by the CA
Step 2:
I need to create a CA, which is a public-private key pair plus a certificate. We will use this CA to sign all 3 broker certificates, and as long as all 3 brokers trust the CA, they will be able to trust each other when they connect.
On the Edge Node that will be the CA:
openssl req -new -x509 -keyout ca-key -out ca-cert -days 365 
For common name, I am using the FQDN of server
At this point I have a "ca-key" and "ca-cert" on the Edge node.
Create a "server.truststore.jks" and "client.truststore.jks" by executing the below:
keytool -keystore server.truststore.jks -alias CARoot -import -file ca-cert