Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Looking for some help on how to use QueryElasticsearchHttp with self_signed certificate

Explorer

Hello NiFi team,

I'm new to NiFi, I'm trying to get data from Elasticsearch using QueryElasticsearchHttp however I have a self_signed certificate I'm not sure how to use that if you can give some examples or just some basic steps I can try to set that up on my end. 

Thank you in advance for the help.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

@Vasu_  I am most definitely an expert in NIFI SSL Context Services and the various different ways to build the controller services with cacerts, public certs, and self signed certs.

Here is an article i just wrote about Modern NiFi and SSL:

https://community.cloudera.com/t5/Community-Articles/NIFI-SSL-in-Modern-Versions-of-NiFi/ta-p/371937

It is important to understand how to make a working SSL Context Service before trying to make custom ones.  So the examples in here to use nifi's own cert's keystore and truststore, and local java cacerts as keystore/trustore, will build confidence in how to configure the controller service before trying to build custom keystores and truststores yourself.

The following link has a technical example, and both solutions you can use here.  

1. Use java cacerts if your elastic endpoint is a public signed ssl cert to build a SSL Context Service
  2. Build you own custom keystore and truststore using actual cert from the endpoint and use that to build a SSL Context Service

https://community.cloudera.com/t5/Support-Questions/Configure-StandardSSLContextService-for-Elastics...

View solution in original post

@Vasu_   Can you provide screen shots of config for the processor(s) and the SSL Context Service you created?