Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Nifi process consuming >100%CPU while executing dataflow

Contributor

i'm new to NiFi and have developed simple dataflow which would read 3 files from on-prem and upload into S3 bucket. i am using ListFile, FetchFile and PutS3 processor groups for this case.

When i trigger dataflow, CPU consumption is spiking >100% and NiFi gets crashed.After few minutes. it automatically comes down to normal. This is happening frequently. My onprem server is Linux and has 8 CPUs. Any idea what's going on  with this.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Super Guru

A couple things you should do:

1) set the schedule of listfile to 1 min or 5 min.  If it’s 0 sec it’s always running which isn’t necessary during testing.

2) tail /var/log/nifi/nifi-app.log while trouble shooting the flow to see errors. Address them individually.

I also suspect the Nifi node does not have enough resources (ram/cores/disk) so look into 3 dedicated nifi nodes with enough core and ram and disk configure for each repository type (see documentation) to allow you to operate Nifi in a stable manner.

View solution in original post

Super Guru

@Gubbi please share you nifi info:

How many nodes?

How much ram and how many cores per node?

What is min/max memory setting in NiFi?

Have you done anything with configuring nifi for performance?  For example

1. Increasing Min/Max Ram?
  2. Disk Partitioning?
  3. Changing the Max Thread Count in Admin->Controller Services?
  4. Setting Concurrent Tasks in processor scheduling tab?

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12

Super Mentor

@Gubbi 

It is impossible to say what is going on here without more detail.
From where are you determining NiFi is using  greater than 100% CPU?