Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Nifi process group scheduling via control m

Contributor

I am new to Nifi.My requirement is to trigger Nifi process group using external scheduling tool called Control M. I tried using shell script to start and.stop the process group using curl command. Process group will fetch data from text file and writes into a database but unable to determine when the process group gets completed because I could see status like Started, Running and Stopped but not Completed state. Struck with this issue and need your valuable inputs on this of how to determine all the records got inserted into database placed inside process group. 

6 REPLIES 6

Expert Contributor

In general, Nifi is not very well suited for event-based processing (E.G. an external scheduling tool pinging nifi to start a process group run). I do not know how Control M works, but what you're describing sounds like it could be achieved with Nifi's REST API (you can directly start/stop a specific process group by its ID).

The requirement for checking if everything got inserted to your database is also quite hard to accomplish accurately. You could use the REST API once more to check your process group has no queued files (which would mean all your flowfiles successfully passed through the flow), though you'll also have to think about what should happen if writing to the DB fails. I don't believe there is any great way to check if your scheduled run 'completed', but you could definitely use some other processor to 'notify' yourself if something failed.

If this answer helped, please mark it as 'solved' and/or apply 'kudos' 🙂.

Contributor

Hi ,

We are orchestrating NiFi flow status(completion/Failed) through Control-M. This is the step below to be followed .