Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Order of files MergeContent processor

Explorer

Hello, I am new to nifi
Suppose that I have multiple file to be merged, named by 0001_0, 0002_0, 0003_0 and so on
and the number of files to be merged is determined by original file which is not the thing we can control
my question is that how to use MergeContent processor to do merge
Thanks

10 REPLIES 10

Master Guru
@Yu-An Chen

You can use either of Merge Strategies

1. 'Defragment' algorithm combines fragments that are associated by attributes back into a single cohesive FlowFile.
  2. The 'Bin-Packing Algorithm' generates a FlowFile populated by arbitrarily chosen FlowFiles and there are bunch of other properties that we need configure based on what you are trying to achieve.

Please refer to the below HCC threads regarding MergeContent processor usage and configurations

https://community.hortonworks.com/questions/64337/apache-nifi-merge-content.html

https://community.hortonworks.com/questions/161827/mergeprocessor-nifi-using-the-correlation-attribu...

https://community.hortonworks.com/questions/149047/nifi-how-to-handle-with-mergecontent-processor.ht...

Let us know if you are facing any issues ..!!

Master Guru
@Yu-An Chen

Could you please add more details(like flow/config screenshots,sample input data,expected output) regarding what you are trying to achieve, so that we can understand your requirements clearly.

Explorer

Here is flow (flow.jpg):

flow.jpg
it can be divided into two parts:
1. First part (above) is doing some Hive like language to generate some files. Please refer to result.jpg for a look

result.jpg