Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

PutSQL time format issue

Explorer

Hello all, 

i am new to Nifi , 

i have Processor to InvokeHTTP and get json file ,

the json format example:

"

{"alertDate":"2023-12-03 11:01:17","title":"XXXX","data":"XXXX, XXXX, XXXX","category":1}"

"

i am using the Processor ConvertJSONToSQL  to send the data to PutSQL to insert to my sql data base ,

my issue is :

PutSQL Failed to update database for FlowFile due to The value of the sql.args.1.value is '2023-12-02 10:54:38', which cannot be converted to a timestamp"

know i need to use the JoltTransformJSON but not sure what is the correct Jolt Specification i need to put,

my DB columns  are like this 

ariel12_0-1701601600538.png

can you please help? - remember i am new to Nifi 🙂

thanks a lot!

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Super Guru

Hi @ariel12 ,

This is happening because the PutSQL expects the timestamp (if no format is provided) to be in the format of "yyyy-MM-dd HH:mm:ss.SSS" . That is the format passed to the Java timestamp constructor by default when trying to parse the date string. Since the date in your input json is missing the milliseconds ".SSS" and no format is provided the process will fail with the "Unparseable date" error.

To fix this,  you can use different processors as follows:

1- UpdateAttribute

You need to find what sql.args.N.value attribute generated by the ConvertJsonToSQL processor that corresponds to the value of the alertDate, then you can update this value using to UpdateAttribute to the proper expected format by PUTSql. For example, if you find that the alertDate value is stored in sql.args.1.value then , then you can update it using Expression Language to the following:

${sql.args.1.value:toDate("yyyy-MM-dd HH:mm:ss"):format("yyyy-MM-dd HH:mm:ss.SSS")}

And the UpdateAttribute will look like:

SAMSAL_0-1701632318125.png