Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Running Pig scripts from HUE editor - Job gets killed

Explorer

Hi,

I am new to hdfs/pig and need quick help. I just installed the cloudera quickstart VM using VMWare.

On running this script(the upper text sample) - 

data = LOAD '/home/cloudera/midsummer.txt' as (text:CHARARRAY);
upper_case = FOREACH data GENERATE org.apache.pig.piggybank.evaluation.string.UPPER(text);
STORE upper_case INTO '/home/cloudera/midsummer2.txt';

It takes 3 to 4 minutes and runs the map part and does not do the reduce. I see the following error on the job workflow page:-

Cannot access: /user/hue/oozie/workspaces/hue-oozie-1452553957.19/${wf:appPath()}/pig-b118.pig/. Note: you are a Hue admin but not a HDFS superuser, "hdfs" or part of HDFS supergroup, "supergroup".

InvalidPathException: Invalid path name Invalid file name: /user/hue/oozie/workspaces/hue-oozie-1452553957.19/${wf:appPath()}/pig-b118.pig (error 400)

I logged on to Hue using the cloudera user and on seeing this error also gave hadoop group to cloudera as well. From Oozie I see the error - JA0189 - Main class [org.apache.oozie.action.hadoop.PigMain], exit code [2]

Your help will be appreciated.

Thanks 

Regards

Santhosh

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Explorer

I should have used the following code. This specifies the correct directory that Hadoop understands.

data = LOAD '/user/cloudera/midsummer.txt' as (text:CHARARRAY);
upper_case = FOREACH data GENERATE UPPER(text);
STORE upper_case INTO '/user/cloudera/midsummerOutput2';

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

Explorer

We would like to consider cloudera for development and ultimate commercial use if I can get over these initial hurdles. Just to add - I just want to run a simple pig script using the HUE editor on a newly installed cloudera quickstart VM.

- Should I login into HUE as cloudera?