Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Secondary NameNode, CheckpointNode or BackupNode?

Contributor

Hi,

I am just getting into hadoop and HDFS. I am very confused how HDFS handles data loss, in case the NameNode fails. In the documentation i found three mechanisms to prevent data loss. Secondary NameNode, CheckpointNode and BackupNode. I understood the differences between them, but I am not sure if CheckpointNode and BackupNode are depreciated, since I cant find them in my Hortonworks distribution.

I also understood, that none of them is neccessary if you deploy hadoop HA. Is there any guideline which of the nodes should be used in production?

thank you for your answers

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

I have never seen Checkpoint/Backup node being used in practice and these should be considered deprecated. I recommend using NameNode HA which eliminates the single point of failure. More details in below post:

https://community.hortonworks.com/questions/85184/checkpoint-node-vs-secondary-namenode.html

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

I have never seen Checkpoint/Backup node being used in practice and these should be considered deprecated. I recommend using NameNode HA which eliminates the single point of failure. More details in below post:

https://community.hortonworks.com/questions/85184/checkpoint-node-vs-secondary-namenode.html

Contributor

In a typical HA cluster, two separate machines are configured as NameNodes. At any point in time, exactly one of the NameNodes is in an Active state, and the other is in a Standbystate. The Active NameNode is responsible for all client operations in the cluster, while the Standby is simply acting as a slave, maintaining enough state to provide a fast failover if necessary.