Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Setting up 5 Node Cluster on Linux. What are the requirements for Linux and Raid, any recommended OS level settings. Please help.

Contributor

I am new to setting up Linux for Hadoop, we are using Linux (Santiago) and wondering what are the requirements for settingup Linux, I know the Ambari and Hadoop Part but not sure for OS level requirements. Like what is the RAID requirements for OS and Hortonworks software. I know we dont need it for data. Any details will be a great help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Master Mentor

Raid 10 for OS disks

No RAID for HDFS disks

make sure you do this

/ - enough space

/usr/hdp - separate mount of 20 to 50 GB

/var/log - separate mount of 200 to 300GB

/hadoop - HDFS data/disk ( size is based on your use case) - No RAID

Do check this http://docs.hortonworks.com/HDPDocuments/Ambari-2.2.0.0/bk_Installing_HDP_AMB/content/_operating_sys...

Important link

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

Master Mentor

Raid 10 for OS disks

No RAID for HDFS disks

make sure you do this

/ - enough space

/usr/hdp - separate mount of 20 to 50 GB

/var/log - separate mount of 200 to 300GB

/hadoop - HDFS data/disk ( size is based on your use case) - No RAID

Do check this http://docs.hortonworks.com/HDPDocuments/Ambari-2.2.0.0/bk_Installing_HDP_AMB/content/_operating_sys...

Important link

Contributor

Thanks for the answer one more thing when you say /usr/hdp seperate mount does it has to be seperate or can I use /usr as a seperate mount of 50GB and create a directory of hdp under it.

Also does all the nodes need to have the same mount points.

third do we need any other mount points for any additional software or can I install them under /usr/hdp like Drill, oziee, spark etc.

Master Mentor

@Syed Naqvi That works as long as /usr has enough space.

All nodes needs that - yes