Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Spark-submit is forcing an earlier protobuf version than required in my project's dependencies

Explorer

In my Scala work project, I use spark-submit to launch my application into a yarn cluster. I am quite new to Maven projects and pom.xml, but the problem I seem to be having is that hadoop's spark2 jars use an older version of google protobuf (2.5.0) than the internal dependencies I'm importing at work (2.6.1). The error is here:

java.lang.NoSuchMethodError:
    com/google/protobuf/LazyStringList.getUnmodifiableView()Lcom/google/protobuf/LazyStringList;
    (loaded from file:/usr/hdp/2.6.4.0-91/spark2/jars/protobuf-java-2.5.0.jar 
    by sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader@8b6f2bf7)
	called from class protobuf.com.mycompany.group.otherproject.api.JobProto$Query 

Since I'm not quite sure how to approach dependency issues like this, and I can't change the code of the internal dependency that uses 2.6.1, I added the required protobuf version as a dependency to my project, as well:

<dependency> 
	        <groupId>com.google.protobuf</groupId> 
	        <artifactId>protobuf-java</artifactId> 
	        <version>2.6.1</version> 
	    </dependency> 

Unfortunately, this hasn't resolved the issue. When the internal dependency (which does import 2.6.1 on its own) tries to use its proto, the conflict occurs.

Any suggestions on how I could force the usage of the newer, correct version would be greatly appreciated.

2 REPLIES 2

@Robert Cornell, you'd need to shade the protobuf dependency which is being used in the spark application to avoid conflicts between application and spark dependencies.

On a side note you can try if setting below properties helps with the current state.

spark.driver.userClassPathFirst true
spark.executor.userClassPathFirst true

Explorer

I'll give these a shot!