Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Trying to use Hive EXPLODE function to "unfold" an array within a field into multiple rows

New Contributor

Hi,

I am new to Hive. We are using NIFI to bring data in from JSON messages into Hortonworks HDFS.

Our JSON messages are nested many levels deep. Using get_json_object, I am pulling back data from a table that holds coverage data for an insurance policy.

Here is my query:

---------------start query--------------------

with QuoteCreated as

( Select quote_id,

get_json_object(message_full,'$.event.quote.vehicles.coverages.limits.type') as coverage_type

from dcbi_dev

where event_class = 'events.quote.QuoteCreated' and quote_id = '57226f1e01a9c82283d02ff8' )

select quote_id, coverage_type

-- this doesn't work --> explode(coverage_type) from QuoteCreated;

---------------end query--------------------

When I run this query in Hive (from Ambari), it returns single row with these values:

quote_id = 57226f1e01a9c82283d02ff8

coverage_type = ["BodilyInjury","PropertyDamage","RentalReimbursement"]

I want to have, instead, 3 rows with the same quote_id, and each row will have one of the 3 values for the coverage_type

I've been attempting to use the Explode function, but when I do, it gives me this error:

"Error while compiling statement: FAILED: SemanticException [Error 10081]: UDTF's are not supported outside the SELECT clause, nor nested in expressions [ERROR_STATUS]"

Research led me to believe that my "array" is, in fact, being stored as a string. I've been unable to convert it to an array or figure out how to make this work.

Can anyone help me figure out how to do this? This would be awesome if we could use explode to unfold arrays into multiple rows for queries and reporting. Thanks very much for any help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Contributor

You should change your query to this:

with q as

(