Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

hint in Phoenix query to force use a global index is not working on a simple HBase table - need to find out why

Explorer

Hello Hortonworks Community,

I am a novice Phoenix user and this is my first post to the Hortonworks Community group. I have what I hope is a simple question: my global index is being ignored, even after I add a Hint, and I want to know why.

We are using Phoenix 4.7 in the Hortonworks distribution. I have created a fairly simple Pboenix (HBase) table of about 8 million rows, and about 15 columns, with several fields having global indexes. I created the main table (variantjoin_rtsalted24) and its indexes, and then used a bulk loader to populate them from a tab-delimited file. That appeared to work fine.

chrom_int is one field on which there is a global index, named vj2_chrom_int. And you can see the index being automatically being used below, where it is the only field being returned. Time required is 0.124 sec.

0: jdbc:phoenix:> SELECT VJ.chrom_int FROM VARIANTJOIN_RTSALTED24 as VJ WHERE (chrom_int =18 ) limit 5;

+------------+

| CHROM_INT |

+------------+

| 18 |

| 18 |

| 18 |

| 18 |

| 18 |

+------------+

5 rows selected (0.124 seconds)

0: jdbc:phoenix:>

You can see that the vj2_chrom_int index is automatically being used, as I understand things, by the "RANGE SCAN" wording and "[0,1" in the explain plan:

0: jdbc:phoenix:> explain SELECT VJ.chrom_int FROM VARIANTJOIN_RTSALTED24 as VJ WHERE (chrom_int =18 ) limit 5;

+------------------------------------------------------------------------------+

| PLAN |

+------------------------------------------------------------------------------+

| CLIENT 24-CHUNK SERIAL 24-WAY ROUND ROBIN RANGE SCAN OVER VJ2_CHROM_INT [0,1 |

| SERVER FILTER BY FIRST KEY ONLY |

| SERVER 5 ROW LIMIT |

| CLIENT 5 ROW LIMIT |