Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

"Path does not exist" error message received when trying to load data from HDFS

Explorer

I am running following command in Zeppelin.First created hive context with following code - 

val hiveContext = new org.apache.spark.sql.SparkSession.Builder().getOrCreate()

then I tried to load a file from HDFS with following code -

val riskFactorDataFrame = spark.read.format("csv").option("header", "true").load("hdfs:///tmp/data/riskfactor1.csv")

but I am getting following error message "org.apache.spark.sql.AnalysisException: Path does not exist: hdfs://sandbox-hdp.hortonworks.com:8020/tmp/data/riskfactor1.csv;"

I am quite new in Hadoop. Please help me figure out what wrong I am doing.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Master Mentor

@Bindal 

Do the following steps

sandbox-hdp login: root
root@sandbox-hdp.hortonworks.com's password:
[root@sandbox-hdp~] mkdir -p /tmp/data

[root@sandbox-hdp~]cd /tmp/data

Now here you should be in /tmp/data to validate that do

[root@sandbox-hdp~]pwd

copy your riskfactor1.csv to this directory using some tool win Winscp or Mobaxterm see my screenshot using winscp

Bindal.PNG

My question is where is riskfactor1.csv file located? If that's not clear you can upload using the ambari view first navigate to /bindal/data and then select the upload please  see attached screenshot to upload the file from your laptop.

Bindal2.PNG

After the successful upload, you can run your Zeppelin job and keep me posted

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

Master Mentor

@Bindal 

Spark expects the riskfactor1.csv file to be in hdfs path /tmp/data/ but to me it seems you have the file riskfactor1.csv on your local filesystem /tmp/data  I have run the below from a sandbox 

Please follow the below steps to resolve that "Path does not exist" error. Log on the CLI on your sandbox as user root then