Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

"invalidate metadata" do not work

Explorer

Hello there,

I'm new to Hadoop and I'm currently trying some examples resembling to the problem I have to solve.

I've created a very simple table in Hive (via hive shell). Then tried to look at it in Impala (via impala-shell). 
Even though I typed "invalidate metadata" before looking at the table in Impala, I couldn't see the table created in Hive. 

It seems that Impala and/or Hive cannot access the meta-store (?).
I looked at impalad logs but didn't find any error. 

Below my configuration and the stuff I typed in hive and impala. 

1.Configuration

* A 6 node  CentOS 6.8 cluster
* CDH 5.7.1

*  impalad version 2.5.0
Impala Shell v2.5.0

Apache Derby - 10.11.1.1
Hive 1.1.0

2. Table creation & lookup 

hive> create database new_db_from_hive ;

OK

hive> create table  new_db_from_hive.new_table_from_hive(x int) ;

OK

hive> show databases like 'new*' ;

OK

new_db_from_hive

Then in Impala : 

[myhost.hadoop:21000] > invalidate metadata ;

Query: invalidate metadata

Fetched 0 row(s) in 3.26s

[myhost.hadoop:21000] > show databases ;

Query: show databases

+------------------+----------------------------------------------+

| name             | comment                                         |

| _impala_builtins | System database for Impala builtin functions |

| default          | Default Hive database                        |

However, I can see the database on the hdfs file system : 

$ hdfs dfs -ls /user/hive/warehouse/new_db_from_hive.db

Found 1 items

drwxrwxrwt   - <myuserid> hive          0 2016-10-24 18:46 /user/hive/warehouse/new_db_from_hive.db/new_table_from_hive

I don't know what is missing. 
Thank you in advance for any help. 

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Master Collaborator

Do you have sentry enabled in the cluster?