Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

service autostart with a notification

Hello, im currently an intern and was given a task to automate a hadoop cluster. It should auto start the component once its down and alert the user (email or similar) that the node was autostarted. How would i go about doing this? Thanks in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Master Mentor

@Matas Mockus

Ambari provides Auto Start feature for the component which went down abnormally.

https://docs.hortonworks.com/HDPDocuments/Ambari-2.7.3.0/managing-and-monitoring-ambari/content/amb_...

You can configure the ambari agent as a service so that it gets restarted upon System Reboot. And once the Ambari Agent is UP and running then it will keep sending the current state of other components to the Ambari Server. If those component went down abruptly then in Ambari DB the desired state for those component will be "Started" but those components are actually Down. So the Auto start will work in this case.

Auto start of a component is based on its current state and "desired state". But if you manually stop the services/components then the auto start will not work because the ambari agent compares the current state of these components against the desired state which is stored inside the Ambari DB for that component, to determine if these components are to be installed, started, restarted or stopped.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

Master Mentor

@Matas Mockus

Ambari provides Auto Start feature for the component which went down abnormally.

https://docs.hortonworks.com/HDPDocuments/Ambari-2.7.3.0/managing-and-monitoring-ambari/content/amb_...