Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Apache Nifi : Merge continuously incoming flowfiles from a processor into a single flowfile

New Contributor

Hi,

I'm a newbie to nifi and i have a scenario where consume kafka record processor fetches 10 million records(not in a single queue/flowfile). The consume kafka records processor runs for a certain amount of time.I need to merge all these flowfiles  into a single flowfile. The problem is , when the processor first runs, it fetches few flowfiles and these flowfiles need to be held until the same processor finishes running and gets the remaining flowfiles. Is there a way i can do it. I have tried to pull the 10 million records in a single flowfile which seems not possible and not a best practice either. Please help

1 REPLY 1

Super Mentor

@Kit2020 

You will want to use the MergeContent or MergeRecord processor to merge you incoming data from Kafka.

NiFi FlowFiles consists of two parts:
1. FlowFile attributes/metadata   --> This information is held in heap memory
2. FlowFile content . --> held in NiFi's content repository on disk.

The merge based processor above will hold the FlowFile attributes of every FlowFile being merged (allocated to a merge bin) in heap memory.  Considering you are talking about merging 10 million FlowFiles, you will not be able to merge all of these using a single merge processor without likely encountering an out of memory condition.  A better approach is to have two merge processor in series with the first merging batches of min 10000 to 20000 and the second merging those into another batch resulting in the merging of all FlowFiles.