Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Copying the Hive External table from one database to another database.

Explorer

Hi Guys,

I got a request to copy one of the large hive external table that has 72883 partitions from one database to another database.   I am new to the Hive database so I need your help in copying that table.  I have done the following steps so far and not sure about next step. 

Do I need to add those 72883 partitions manually or is there another way to add those partitions to the target table.   

Your early response is very much appreciated.

Steps:

1.  created the external table in new databases with the same definition of the source table,but with different location.  

2.  Copy the CSV files of source table location  to target table location.

Regards

~Suresh D

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Master Mentor

@Uppal 

Great if all went well we usually run msck repair table daily once you have loaded a new partition in HDFS location.

Why  you need to run msck Repair table statement every time after each ingestion?

Hive stores a list of partitions for each table in its metastore. If, however, new partitions are directly added to HDFS , the metastore (and hence Hive) will not be aware of these partitions unless the user runs either of below ways to add the newly add partitions.

msck will add metadata about partitions to the Hive metastore for partitions for which such metadata doesn't already exist
If you will find the need remember to do that  else accept the answer and close the thread :

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

Master Mentor

@Uppal 

Best way to duplicate a partitioned table in Hive

• Create the new target table with the schema from the old table  the describe formatted could help with the SQL
  • Use hadoop fs -cp to copy all the partitions from source to the target table