Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Facing issue in installation of HDP sandbox 2.6.1

Hi I have downloaded HDP 2.6.1 sandbox.installing it in vmware workstation .

But it got stuck and not moving ahead after "Started cleanup temp directories"

My system configuration is windows os i3 and 8GB RAM.

When I had started installing in vm ware it was giving Linux installation options.

I am new to this hortonworks tech .can anybody help me to resolve this issue?

35 REPLIES 35

Rising Star

HDP sandbox requires over 8GB RAM so you cannot run it on your system.

I recommend 16GB virtual machine.

But I have seen few comments regarding HDP installation and people have installed in in 8 gb RAM.

Master Mentor

@pooja shrivastava

Yes you can install the downloaded HDP 2.6.1 sandbox. What error are you encountering?

New Contributor

While starting Hortonworks sandbox it gets stuck on "extracting and loading the hortonworks sandbox..." And after some times it shows the message of critical error or sometimes it says "your system has ran into an error we'll restart it"

@Geoffrey Shelton Okot

I am not getting any error.From last 2 hours installation is not progressing.

hdp-issue.png

Master Mentor

@pooja shrivastava

Minimum 8GB RAM you should have on your 64 bit OS to run the Sandbox without any issue.

Please see the NOTE from our doc: https://hortonworks.com/hadoop-tutorial/learning-the-ropes-of-the-hortonworks-sandbox/

Note: The Sandbox system requirements include that you have a 64 bit OS with at least 8 GB of RAM and enabled BIOS for virtualization. Find out about the newest features, known and resolved issues along with other updates on HDP 2.4 from the release notes. The Sandbox on Azure is under construction and will update to HDP2.5 soon.

@Jay SenSharma