Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Nifi expression language for loops over attributes

New Contributor

Currently I am having around 15 attributes in my flowfile. Out of these 15, i only want a few (all the attributes that have a prefix 'error_' in it. These 'error_*' attributes can have 2 sets of values, eighter- 'valid' or some error code, say- '945'. Now i want to iterate though all the attributes with prefix - 'error_' and if its value is 'valid', do nothing and if its value is having some error code, append the error code to a string separated by ';'. So basically, if I have 5 error_ attributes:

error_field1: '123'
error_field2: 'Valid'
error_field3: '567'
error_field4: 'Valid'
error_field5: '45'

I want my output as - '123;567;45'.

Please help me as i am new to Nifi and i am not sure on how to work with such complex EL.

5 REPLIES 5

Master Collaborator

@Nidutt 

Sorry, I can't give you a perfect solution but maybe a hint to find one.
Just do GenerateFlowFile and set your attributes like in your example.
Then take UpdateAttribute and play around with Expression Language possibilities like "anyMatchingAttribute" or "allMatchingAttribute" maybe in combination with "join".

Have a look in the documentation here
https://nifi.apache.org/docs/nifi-docs/html/expression-language-guide.html#multi

Expert Contributor

Hi @Nidutt! Use the below Expression Language:

${literal(${allMatchingAttributes("error_field.*"):join(";")}):replaceAll('Valid|;',' '):trim():replaceAll('\s+',';')}

Master Collaborator

@PVVK 

Great solution! I was sure it has to be possible but couldn't find out how...

Just for my understanding:
First all attributes name starting with error_field getting joined and then you replace the value 'Valid' with space and removing this by the last replaceAll.

But what is the meaning of | here: replaceAll('Valid|;',' ')