Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Nifi starts without error but cannot connect

Contributor

Hi

I am very new to nifi and try to install and configure the system.

I started nifi.sh start and it shows 

Java home: /Library/Java/JavaVirtualMachines/jdk1.8.0_65.jdk/Contents/Home

NiFi home: /Users/daniel/Downloads/nifi-1.15.3

Bootstrap Config File: /Users/daniel/Downloads/nifi-1.15.3/conf/bootstrap.conf

And when i enter nifi.sh  status, terminal shows:

2022-02-26 09:31:33,238 INFO [main] org.apache.nifi.bootstrap.Command Apache NiFi is currently running, listening to Bootstrap on port 52929, PID=74313

I changed nifi.web.http.port in nifi.properties to 8080.

But still I do not see any on localhost:8080.

In the log file there is no message that server has started on 8080 port.

I have no idea what problem caused the issue.

Please advise me.

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Super Guru

Hi @CookieCream ,

I think I have a good idea of what's going on. The bootstrap.log, which you shared in pvt, has an error message complaining about a invalid key size. When I saw that I checked again your Java version and realized that you're using a very old Java version (1.8.0_65). In this version of Java, cryptographic key sizes were limited and you could not create long keys. Because of that, NiFi fails to create the TLS keys when it starts. To enable that in your Java version, you would have to download the Java Cryptography Extension (JCE) Unlimited Strength policies and copy them to your Java home manually to allow AES keys of size 256 and larger. These policies were only included by default in the JDK starting from update 1.8.0_162.

So, you have two options to make this work:

• (Recommended) Upgrade your JDK to the latest Java 1.8 or, preferrably, to Java 11 (do not use versions higher than 11 because they are not supported by NiFi)