Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

PySpark: How to add column to dataframe with calculation from nested array of floats

New Contributor

Pardon, as I am still a novice with Spark. I am working with a Spark dataframe, with a column where each element contains a nested float array of variable lengths, typically 1024, 2048, or 4096. (These are vibration waveform signatures of different duration.)

An example element in the 'wfdataseries' colunmn would be [0.06692, 0.0805, 0.05738, 0.02046, -0.02518, ...]. A variety of metrics and statistics can be calculated from these blocks of vibration data.

The goal is to extract calculated features from each array, and place in a new column in the same dataframe. This is very easily accomplished with Pandas dataframes:

from pyspark.sql import HiveContext, Row #Import Spark Hive SQL
hiveCtx = HiveContext(sc) #Cosntruct SQL context
rows=hiveCtx.sql("SELECT collectiondate,serialno,system,accelerometerid,ispeakvue,wfdataseries,deltatimebetweenpoints,\ spectrumdataseries,maxfrequencyhz FROM test_vibration.vibrationblockdata") import pandas as pd df=rows.toPandas() df['wfdataseries']=df.wfdataseries.apply(lambda x: x.encode('UTF8').split(',')) def str2flt(data): #Define function for converting list of strings to list of floats return [float(value) for value in data] df['wfdataseries']=df.wfdataseries.apply(str2flt) df['WF_Peak']=df.wfdataseries.apply(lambda x: max(x)) #Calculate max value of nested array in each element of column 'wfdataseries' # Various vibration waveform statistics import numpy as np from scipy import stats df['WF_Var']=df.wfdataseries.apply(lambda x: np.var(np.array(x))) df['WF_Kurt']=df.wfdataseries.apply(lambda x: stats.kurtosis(np.array(x),bias=True)) df['WF_Skew']=df.wfdataseries.apply(lambda x: stats.skew(np.array(x),bias=True))

PandasDF.JPG