Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

SQoop job too slow importing data from Teradata to Hive table.

Expert Contributor

Hi, I am new to hadoop and just started trying out few things in hadoop. So this question may be naive.

I tried to import data from Teradata table to Hive (ORC format table) using SQoop. Below is the command I used for import.

sqoop import \
--connect "jdbc:teradata://tdsrva/database=TEST,logmech=LDAP" \
--driver com.teradata.jdbc.TeraDriver \
--query 'select A.USER as id, B.DIM_I as dim_i from TEST.TBL1 B, TEST.TBL2 A where $CONDITIONS and substr(A.col1,1,15) = B.col1' \
--split-by dim_i \
--hcatalog-database DEFAULT \
--hcatalog-table sqoop_import_test \
--username test_user \
--password test1234 \
--fetch-size 10000 \
-m 1 \
--verbose

Initially I tried without -m, it created 4 maps by default. But in both the cases, the mapper is running for a long time ~ 15 mins without any response. In case of no -m option being specified, only 1 of 4 mappers gets completed in first 10 mins and the rest shows below error and does not even complete after 20 to 30 mins. So I had to manually kill the job.

"15/12/30 13:31:54 INFO mapreduce.Job: Task Id : attempt_1449790668797_14580_m_000000_2, Status : FAILED
AttemptID:attempt_1449790668797_14580_m_000000_2 Timed out after 300 secs"

Mappers are struck at this below line in the log. It takes a long time (or it does not proceed further in some cases) after this line in the log. What does this do?

org.apache.hadoop.mapred.Task:  Using ResourceCalculatorProcessTree : [ ]

The query response is lesser than 5 secs in Teradata when executed from bteq. But still the Sqoop job is too slow. I am not sure if it would even complete. Total record count is lesser than 10k. Is this the usual time taken for Sqoop jobs to import records from teradata to Hive?