Support Questions
Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Alert: Welcome to the Unified Cloudera Community. Former HCC members be sure to read and learn how to activate your account here.

Spark Thrift Server Continually Stops

Highlighted

Spark Thrift Server Continually Stops

Contributor

I have a fresh install of Ambari (HDP 2.5 - version: 2.5.3.0-37) and I have a few services that will not remain running. There are not yet any users of this cluster; thus, it is simply a new cluster that is not yet in use.

One service that I am struggling to understand what may be going wrong is the Spark Thrift Server.

If I attempt to start the Spark Thrift Server, it generally stops within 1-5 minutes. Even upon a full reboot of the entire cluster this service will stop soon thereafter.

The only output I can find is:

[ambari-heartbeat-processor-0] HeartbeatProcessor:612 - State of service component SPARK_THRIFTSERVER of service SPARK of cluster hdpcluster has changed from STARTED to INSTALLED at host hdpcnode4 according to STATUS_COMMAND

Being this is a cluster, the Spark Thrift Server is running on node4 and ambari is on node1. The above log entry I find on node1 within /var/log/ambari-server/ambari-server.log. My guess is there may be more info about this failure in another log file but I have not had luck finding where this additional log data may be found.

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted

Re: Spark Thrift Server Continually Stops

New Contributor

Hi Mark, dealing with Spark Thrift issue too on v2.5.3. I noticed my times are not in sync on all the nodes.

I'm behind a proxy so my ntpd wasn't updating. Probably not your issue but might be good to keep in mind.