Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Spark Thrift Server Continually Stops

Rising Star

I have a fresh install of Ambari (HDP 2.5 - version: 2.5.3.0-37) and I have a few services that will not remain running. There are not yet any users of this cluster; thus, it is simply a new cluster that is not yet in use.

One service that I am struggling to understand what may be going wrong is the Spark Thrift Server.

If I attempt to start the Spark Thrift Server, it generally stops within 1-5 minutes. Even upon a full reboot of the entire cluster this service will stop soon thereafter.

The only output I can find is:

[ambari-heartbeat-processor-0] HeartbeatProcessor:612 - State of service component SPARK_THRIFTSERVER of service SPARK of cluster hdpcluster has changed from STARTED to INSTALLED at host hdpcnode4 according to STATUS_COMMAND

Being this is a cluster, the Spark Thrift Server is running on node4 and ambari is on node1. The above log entry I find on node1 within /var/log/ambari-server/ambari-server.log. My guess is there may be more info about this failure in another log file but I have not had luck finding where this additional log data may be found.

5 REPLIES 5

New Contributor

Hi Mark, dealing with Spark Thrift issue too on v2.5.3. I noticed my times are not in sync on all the nodes.

I'm behind a proxy so my ntpd wasn't updating. Probably not your issue but might be good to keep in mind.