Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

What is Schema URI in oozie?

Expert Contributor

I am new to Oozie and trying to understand the significance of the schema URI in oozie workflow. Below is a typical mention of a schema uri.

xmlns="uri:oozie:workflow:0.5"

What exactly does it mean? What does the number (0.5) at the end implies to? How should I get the uri information and from where? I am using CDH 5.3.6 and the Oozie Client Build version is 4.0.0. Please write a detailed explanation on oozie schema if possible.

Much appreciate your help. Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Explorer

XML has XSD (XML Schema Definition) that defines the schema/structure of the XML document. It describes what elements are allowed, nesting and count and such. While wiring XML that conforms with certain or specific XSD, namespace is specified to point to it.

For Oozie there are version specific XSDs based on new features/elements/attributes/actions they support. Here's the workflow 0.5 XSD that is referred by that xmlns. https://github.com/apache/oozie/blob/master/client/src/main/resources/oozie-workflow-0.5.xsd

When you refer to the said XSD, if means your workflow XMLs will adhere to and use the elements/attributes described by that XSD.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

Master Mentor

My understanding is that you reference aparticular version of oozie xml languagw for workflows. number 0.5 signifies the latest version as of Oozie 4.2.0. With every new version there are Oozie actions that are being added, deprecated, removed and extended. Meaning let's take fs action, here are notes on it from the docs