Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

ambari + Update a blueprint

hi all

I am new in ambari world

I read the blog from the follwing site - https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/en/SS4GSP_6.2.5/com.ibm.edt.api.doc/topics/rest_bpid_put...

and that because we need to update values for some services in ambari cluster

and then to deploy new version of blue print

the syntax for the new blue print update is ( from the site example )

curl -u jsmith:passwd 
   -H "Content-Type: application/json"
  -H "Location: /landscaper/orion/file/jsmith_8a6bfff7_2c77_45db_a235_adda61ad6653-OrionContent/myTeam/myBlueprint/myBlueprint.yml"
  http://myserver.example.com:8080/landscaper/rest/blueprint/MyBlueprint 
  -X PUT 
  -d @updatedBlueprint.json

but not clearly for me , ( we need to type this syntax on Linux ambari server machine )

for example: what is the .yml file

-H "Location: /landscaper/orion/file/jsmith_8a6bfff7_2c77_45db_a235_adda61ad6653-OrionContent/myTeam/myBlueprint/myBlueprint.yml"

from where we need to take the json file?

-d @updatedBlueprint.json
Michael-Bronson
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Master Mentor

@uri ben-ari

Usually when you add or delete components in a cluster its advisable to download the new blueprint, to enable you reproduce the cluster like from UAT/DEV to PROD.

The other was round I have never tried though you can add components to an existing cluster using a blueprint. see

Look at this

View solution in original post

17 REPLIES 17

Master Mentor

@uri ben-ari

The .yml is a configuration file It's basically a human-readable structured data format "YAML stands for "YAML Ain't Markup Language" and it is used extensively in Grav for its configuration files, blueprints, and also in page settings. YAML is to configuration what markdown is to markup." In this case the your configuration file is "myBlueprint.yml"