Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

file location in HDP

Expert Contributor

This might come across as a very naive question as I have never used Linux before. I was wondering where can I view the files inside the sandbox like hadoop configuration files? What is the path? Data files on the data node??

I should log onto the sandbox via the command line via root and where should i navigate to then.

I was thinking of configuring a GUI (Gnome) for the sandbox, but unfortunately every simple task has proven to be more difficult than I expected. I do find answers to the problems that I face, online but unfortunately mostly the solutions would not work for me.

I have trouble turning off the firewall in the sandbox (Centos 6.8)

I have trouble installing Gnome because I get no package available etc.

Lastly is this necessary? or if i have ambari I do not need to install the GUI?

Trouble in pinging my machine from the guest.

Trouble copying files to the guest machine.... conneciton refused 😞

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Arsalan Siddiqi, I'll try to answer the several pieces of your question.

• First, I encourage you to go through the Sandbox Tutorial at http://hortonworks.com/hadoop-tutorial/learning-the-ropes-of-the-hortonworks-sandbox/ It will help you understand a great deal about the Sandbox, and what it is intended to do and how to use it.
  • The sandbox comes with Ambari and the Stack pre-installed. You shouldn't need to change OS system settings in the Sandbox VM, which is intended to act like an "appliance". Also, the sandbox already has everything Ambari needs to run successfully, over the HTTP Web interface. No need to configure graphic packages on the sandbox VM.