Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

how to add jar files through hive view on ambari

Contributor

hello all

I am very new to hadoop and I wanted to add a couple of jar files to be able to perform my queries

I tried using add jars and the path of the jars like I do in the terminal but I get an error

add jar /tmp/udfs/esri-geometry-api.jar /tmp/udfs/spatial-sdk-hadoop.jar;

Error while compiling statement: FAILED: ParseException line 4:0 cannot recognize input near 'add' 'jar' '/' [ERROR_STATUS]

since I am a newbie i dont exactly know how to add them since the path where the jars are located is right, and I am able to do that successfully on the terminal throught he back end.

Kindly if someone could elaborately explain me how to add these jar files, i would be eternally grateful

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Super Guru

@Srinivas Santhanam

Add semicolon at the end and make sure that your ambari user is mapped to an OS user that has access to the path

add jar /tmp/udfs/esri-geometry-api.jar;

add jar /tmp/udfs/spatial-sdk-hadoop.jar;

My suggestion is to place these libraries in HDFS with your Ambari user that has hdfs priviles. Such you can have access to the libraries from any node with hive client.

Example:

add jar hdfs://whateverhostname:8020/tmp/esri/esri-geometry-api.jar;

If the response addresses your problem, don't forget to vote and accept best answer. It is a stimulus for the effort. Thank you.

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15

Super Guru

Hi, can you please try to add those jars saparetly?

add jar /tmp/udfs/esri-geometry-api.jar

add jar /tmp/udfs/spatial-sdk-hadoop.jar

Contributor

Hi, Thanks

I tried to do so, still showing the same error..

Super Guru

ok, then you can also put these required jars inside hive.aux.jars.path through ambari hive conf, jars will get picked automatically.

Contributor

Hi jitendra,