Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

putHDFS no output - logs?

New Contributor

Hello,

I am a newbie at Hadoop and Nifi. Hopefully that'll change soon.

I have installed a Hortonworks sandbox, and added HDF-2.0.0.0 on it, installing and running nifi as a service.

I have configured a dataflow based on the "Pull from Twitter gardenhose" template, which seems to work fine, except that there's no output in the putHDFS processor:

7947-puthdfs-no-output.png

There are no messages or warnings in the nifi UI, except when I changed the directory entry in the properties to "hdfs://sanbox.hortonworks.com/....".

7948-puthdfs-processor-details.png

I suspect that I have the wrong core-site.xml and/or hdfs-site.xml files specified (there are a dozen of each on the sandbox...), but I don't know where to look for error descriptions. It could also be related to teh fact that I don't run the sandbox on localhost but in the LAN (with the network setting in the virtualbox set to "bridged").

The files: logs/nifi-app.log, nifi-bootstrap.log and nifi-user.log have no data regarding this process.

Update: I found the bulletins setting, and put it to DEBUG. This helps already. Can I view them somewhere outside the UI? Only the last 3 are showing...

Can anyone point out to me where to find the error logs for this processor?

Many thanks for reading this far already 🙂

puthdfs-processor-details.pngputhdfs-no-output.png
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Master Guru

I believe you should be able to use /etc/hadoop/conf/core-site.xml and /etc/hadoop/conf/hdfs-site.xml, and if you are running NiFi/HDF directly on the sandbox there shouldn't be any connectivity problems.

Do you have the relationships of PutHDFS going anywhere, or are they auto-terminated?