Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Apache NiFi user authentication + creation of multiple users using openID

Explorer

I am new to Apache NiFi and  have a fresh apache NiFi instance on my local system and i want to create 3 users and authenticate them with openID/google oAuth from their email ID( instead of seeing the usual NiFi login screen, i want to see the google authentication window where i can use my email id to login).

i tried to follow the bryan bende's article on it but it feels very outdated for now. (https://bryanbende.com/development/2017/10/03/apache-nifi-openid-connect)

please help me with this and provide me with a step-by-step breakdown on how can i achieve this? 

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Master Mentor

@jai1gupta 
Yes NiFi out-of-the-box in the latest releases is secured to run over HTTPS.
However, that out of the box default setup is very basic (non production setup) to allow users to work within a secured NiFi.  Its default setup utilizes the Single-User-Provider authentication login provider (configured in login-identity-providers.xml) and single-user-authorizer configured in the authorizers.xml.  This out-of the-box provider does not support multi-user capability.  For multi-user production ready deployments with ability to define very granular access controls, you'll need to use a different authentication provider (Most commonly used is probably the ldap-provider) and different authorize (most commonly used is the  StandardManagedAuthorizer configured to use the file-user-group-provider and file-access-policy-provider).  NiFi does not offer any built in multi-user provider that allows you to create local to NiFi users with passwords.