Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

BI Career and Hadoop Question.

Contributor

Hi,

I am a BI Developer/Consultant, in particular, OBI EE. I know Oracle PL/SQL and have some exposure to Oracle Data Integrator. I have recently started knowing Hortonworks' Hadoop Big Data platform.

I am unfamiliar with Java, Python or R. At this (st)age I am not sure, I can learn these programming languages. I understand that Hadoop consists of several technologies. Of course, I can consider Hadoop Architectural career path.

What I would like to know now is, is there any specific component in the Hortonworks' Hadoop ecosystem that can complement to my traditional DW/BI skills? I would like to concentrate on those now.

If you have any questions, please let me know.

Thank you.

Regards,

Manoj.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Guru

Hi @Manoj Dixit

The natural progression with your background would be to look at technologies such as HDFS and Hive, and the associated governance and security tools like Atlas and Ranger. From there, you can branch out to NoSQL solutions such as HBase and then look at streaming technologies like Hortonworks Data Flow (Apache NiFi).

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

Guru

Hi @Manoj Dixit

The natural progression with your background would be to look at technologies such as HDFS and Hive, and the associated governance and security tools like Atlas and Ranger. From there, you can branch out to NoSQL solutions such as HBase and then look at streaming technologies like Hortonworks Data Flow (Apache NiFi).

Adding to Sonu's response: