Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Cannot Connect Tableau to HiveServer2

Rising Star

I have a default Ambari 2.3 install, meaning I have not changed much from the default.

From the Services->Hive page I can tell HiveServer2 is running and on which node it is running. Also if I go into Services->Hive->Config->Advanced I can see my security authorization is none and authentication is none.

When I attempt to attach Tableau to HiveServer2 with the proper node on port 10000 and no authentication it does not connect.

I can tell the Tableau workstation is attempting to connect to the HiveServer2 on port 10000 via 'netstat -peant'.

When I look in the HiveServer2 logs, as soon as I attempt to connect from Tableau I get this error:

----

2016-04-07 16:02:52,205 ERROR [HiveServer2-Handler-Pool: Thread-142]: server.TThreadPoolServer (TThreadPoolServer.java:run(296)) - Error occurred during processing of message.

java.lang.RuntimeException: org.apache.thrift.transport.TTransportException: Invalid status -128

at org.apache.thrift.transport.TSaslServerTransport$Factory.getTransport(TSaslServerTransport.java:219) at org.apache.thrift.server.TThreadPoolServer$WorkerProcess.run(TThreadPoolServer.java:268) at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.runWorker(ThreadPoolExecutor.java:1142) at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(ThreadPoolExecutor.java:617) at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:745)

Caused by: org.apache.thrift.transport.TTransportException: Invalid status -128