Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

oozie Input events clarification

Expert Contributor

I am new to oozie and can anyone explain what is the purpouse of input-events and output-events.I have gone through the manual but still it is not clear.can anyone explain input-event in below case.

<coordinator-app name="MY_APP" frequency="1440" start="2009-02-01T00:00Z" end="2009-02-07T00:00Z" timezone="UTC" xmlns="uri:oozie:coordinator:0.1">
   <datasets>
      <dataset name="input1" frequency="60" initial-instance="2009-01-01T00:00Z" timezone="UTC">
         <uri-template>hdfs://localhost:9000/tmp/revenue_feed/${YEAR}/${MONTH}/${DAY}/${HOUR}</uri-template>
      </dataset>
   </datasets>
   <input-events>
      <data-in name="coordInput1" dataset="input1">
          <start-instance>${coord:current(-23)}</start-instance>
          <end-instance>${coord:current(0)}</end-instance>
      </data-in>
   </input-events>
   <action>
      <workflow>
         <app-path>hdfs://localhost:9000/tmp/workflows</app-path>
      </workflow>
   </action>     
</coordinator-app>
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@vamsi valiveti

Oozie can materialize coordinator actions (i.e. start tasks/jobs) based on time-based intervals or triggers. For example run Job X every day at 12pm. However, time is not always the only dependency. Sometimes we may want to start a job after all the necessary data is available. So, Oozie coordintor allows us to use both, time and data dependencies, to start a workflow.

“dataset”, “input-events” and “output-events” are the pillars for configuring data dependencies in coordinator.xml.

Dataset: