Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Trying to copy file from my windows machine to sandbox and not succeding

Rising Star

Hello @slachterman

Greetings!!!

I am trying to copy a file from my local windows machine to sandbox using below command and not seeing the file in sandbox root directory after executing command.

scp -P C:/Users/rnkumashi/Downloads/sample.txt root@localhost:/root

1.I am connected to sandbox using Vm ware.

2.After executing the command i am trying to list the content in sandbox root directory and not seeing the file.

Please see below for the details.

5303-scp-command.png

any help would be great and i am new to sandbox.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Ravikumar Kumashi

Try this command instead.

scp -P 2222 C:/Users/rnkumashi/Downloads/sample.txt root@localhost:/root

However you need something like cygwin to make scp work from windows machine.

You have to run the command from windows, not sandbox.

This is a good document to get you started http://hortonworks.com/hadoop-tutorial/learning-the-ropes-of-the-hortonworks-sandbox/

View solution in original post

33 REPLIES 33

@Ravikumar Kumashi the scp command is missing the port number (please notice that the "usage" text was returned by the command, which means the syntax was incorrect). Please try specifying 2222 after the -P switch.

@Ravikumar Kumashi

Try this command instead.

However you need something like cygwin to make scp work from windows machine.

You have to run the command from windows, not sandbox.

This is a good document to get you started http://hortonworks.com/hadoop-tutorial/learning-the-ropes-of-the-hortonworks-sandbox/

Rising Star

@slachterman Thanks for your reply...

Do you mean i have to use below command in my windows machine command prompt to copy files to sandbox root directory.