Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise

How can I create a simple topology? I want to write this program using python on the hortonworks shell.

Expert Contributor

I'm new to Storm so, please suggest me where to start typing this piece of code and methods to save and execute it on the hortonworks shell. Any suggestions to get started will be helpful. Thanks in advance for your time.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Master Mentor
@keerthana gajarajakumar

this is how I started learning Storm. Link. Feel free to try it and report any issues. Michael Noll's blog is an excellent resource on Storm and now Kafka. I built my first Hadoop cluster thanks to his site. He has some beginner posts Here

View solution in original post

24 REPLIES 24

Master Mentor

@keerthana gajarajakumar before the ExlamationTopology name of topology provide full class name

com.myclass.ClassName

Master Mentor
@keerthana gajarajakumar

this is how I started learning Storm. Link. Feel free to try it and report any issues. Michael Noll's blog is an excellent resource on Storm and now Kafka. I built my first Hadoop cluster thanks to his site. He has some beginner posts Here

Master Mentor

@keerthana gajarajakumar also if you are in NYC we are having a meetup with Storm user group on the 17th, welcome!

Expert Contributor

@Artem Ervits -- Artem.. Once I customize the ExclamationTopology.java file to meet my needs how can I make the shell point to it on my system and execute? Any thoughts?

Master Mentor